Masonic Glossary

What does 2B1ask1 mean?

2b1ask1, which means, “To be one, ask one.” You must voluntarily ask to join Freemasonry. Masons do not solicit new members. If you don’t know a Mason, you can contact your state’s Grand Lodge for a referral. Most lodges have dinner together once a month, and enjoy meeting new guests. 

What is York Rite Freemasonry?

The York Rite consists of a number of separate organizations and degrees. The York Rite is primarily based in the US and encompasses three bodies: the Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, the Council of Royal and Select Masters, and the Commandery of Knights Templar.

What are the York Rite Degrees?

Freemasonry’s York Rite degrees are:

Chapter degrees (Mark Master, Past Master, Most Excellent Master, and Royal Arch)
Council Degrees (Royal Master, Select Master, and Super Excellent Master)
Commandery Degrees (Illustrious Order of the Red Cross, Order of Malta, and Order of the Temple)

What is the Scottish Rite Consistory?

The Consistory in the Scottish Rite is the highest body of the Scottish Rite system of degrees. It is comprised of the 31st and 32nd degrees and represents the culmination of the Scottish Rite journey.

Who are the Knights of Saint Andrew?

The Knights of Saint Andrew is composed of 32nd Degree Scottish Rite Masons who have taken additional steps to further their service in the Scottish Rite. The Knights of Saint Andrew serve as an honor guard and ceremonial body in Scottish Rite events and perform other duties as directed.

Test Question

Test Answer